District Profile

District Anantnag is one of the oldest districts of the valley and covered the entire south Kashmir before its bifurcation into Anantnag and Pulwama in 1979. The districts of Anantnag and Pulwama later got sub-divided into Kulgam and Shopian, in 2007. Consequently the districts of Pulwama and Kulgam lie on the north and north-west of District Anantnag, respectively. The district of Ganderbal and Kargil touch its eastern boundary and the district of Kishtawar meets on its southern boundary whileas District Doda touches its west land strip.

The population of the district, as per census 2011, is 1078692 (10.79 lac) souls, comprising of 153640 households, with a gender distribution of 559767 (5.60 lac) males and 518925 (5.19 lac) females and as per the natural arrangement the district has 927 females against 10 00 males whileas it is 1000:889 at the state level. The Rural, Urban constitution of the populations stands in the ratio of 74:26 as against 73:27 for the state.
The district consists of 387 inhabited and 07 un-inhabited revenue villages. Besides, there is one Municipal Council a nd 08 Municipal Committees in the district. The district consists of 12 tehsils, viz, Anantnag, Anantnag-East,Bijbehara, Dooru, Kokernag, Larnoo, Pahalgam, Qazigund, Sallar, Shahabad Bala, Shangus and Srigufwara. The district is also divided into 16 CD blocks,viz, Achabal, Anantnag, Bijbehara, Breng, Chhitter gul, Dachnipora, Hiller Shahabad, Khoveripora, Larnoo, Pahalgam, Qazigund,Sagam, Shahabad,Shangus, Verinag and Vessu.
For law and order purposes, the district has been divided into nine police Stations, viz; Anantnag (Town), Aishmuqam, Achabal,Bijbehara, Dooru,Kokernag, Mattan, Pahalgam & Srigufwara and 08 police posts, viz, Sherbagh, 2 General Bus Stand Anantnag, Utterrsoo, Larnoo, Janglat Mandi, Khanabal,Sangam & Damhall Khoshipora.